What's new

Engine Cover Nut has driven me Nuts!

Tiberious SG

Members
Reaction score
Car
04 Reg CDTI 2.2
OK So finely a dry day here in the North-West and on a Saturday too, Time to do some work on the Accord. I know i'LL start easy and do that Coolant change I've been meaning to do.

Should be easy as after air and filter changes its pretty much the quickest and easiest job on my list.

So following the ever handy DI Y's on TA, parts from HH at the ready and fresh brew prepared, I put the Accord up on the Ramps and started.
(I should mention I'm an IT Engineer so soldering irons crimping tools and electronics are not an issue but only been playing with cars since 2010)

Step 1 remove engine cover to allow access to bleeder valve. @#$£$%^&%£%$£%^£% !!!!!!!!!

Okay so first Nut on engine cover will not come off its turning but not going any where. No matter I'll get the others off and get everything else ready and get back to it.

All other nuts have come off no issue, so I returned to the offending item and spent a good two hours using every tool and technique I can think off, but its still stares at me in defiance.

Frustration finally got the better of me when I accidentally cracked the plastic rocker cover (that's not going to be cheap!).

So after three and a half hours I have given in planning on chilling out and doing some research before I try again or worse still admit defeat and get my mechanic involved.

Any ideas are welcome as I am still a a relative novice and today was a painful reminder of this. :eek:

The dome nut you mean? Is it spinning and not coming off, or is it stuck solid? I don't remember there being a trick to it, but I'll have a look at mine if you tell me which the offending one is!

The dome nut you mean? Is it spinning and not coming off, or is it stuck solid? I don't remember there being a trick to it, but I'll have a look at mine if you tell me which the offending one is!