Jump to content


Photo

HFT


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 phil71

phil71

    Newbie

  • Pre-Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name:Phil
  • Car :Honda Accord
  • LocationRowley Regis

Posted 27 October 2010 - 04:09 PM

Hi I have just purchased a 2007 Honda Accord 2.2i CDTi sport and the HFT doesen't seem to be working. When I press the talk button for it i get nothing, no bleep or anything has anyone any ideas as to what is stopping it from working or if there is any way that it has been disabled etc. Is it possible to do a diagnostics check on it to see if something has gone.
Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

#2 brett

brett

    T A Terminator

  • Administrators
  • 13,669 posts
  • Name:Brett
  • Car :8th gen 2.4 Manual
  • LocationBristol

Posted 27 October 2010 - 04:19 PM

Welcome to TA Philip it might be a fuse gone.Were did you buy the car and what warranty have you got.Here is a link of problems iv had it might be good info for you.

http://typeaccord.co...1-hft-problems/

Edited by brett, 27 October 2010 - 04:20 PM.

 photo IMG_06551_zps16877260.jpg photo 1a30ead12b5799ee4c7f519123a797de_zps2vsu5cen.jpg

#3 CJM

CJM

    Dr. Diesel

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,229 posts
  • Name:Carl
  • Car :56 Accord Ex i-CTDI
  • LocationGreater Manchester

Posted 27 October 2010 - 05:45 PM

Welcome along Phil,

I second Brett on the fuse theory, especially if you are getting nothing from the HFT.

Does the Sat Nav work with Voice activation or is there no sat nav?

#4 phil71

phil71

    Newbie

  • Pre-Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name:Phil
  • Car :Honda Accord
  • LocationRowley Regis

Posted 27 October 2010 - 09:07 PM

Hi CJM / Brett

Thanks for the welcome and help, the voice recognition works on the sat nav. I get a bleep when i press that button but nothing on the talk button for the HFT. Where would the fuse be for the HFT so that I can check it.

Thanks again

Welcome along Phil,

I second Brett on the fuse theory, especially if you are getting nothing from the HFT.

Does the Sat Nav work with Voice activation or is there no sat nav?



#5 CJM

CJM

    Dr. Diesel

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,229 posts
  • Name:Carl
  • Car :56 Accord Ex i-CTDI
  • LocationGreater Manchester

Posted 28 October 2010 - 05:35 AM

Hi CJM / Brett

Thanks for the welcome and help, the voice recognition works on the sat nav. I get a bleep when i press that button but nothing on the talk button for the HFT. Where would the fuse be for the HFT so that I can check it.

Thanks again


Their are a number of fuse boxes , 1 located in the interior of the car, the primary fuse box under the bonnet and then there are also 2 mini fuse boxes under the bonnet (from memory near the primary box). I don't know the exact fuse and it may also depend on whether the car is petrol or diesel, but looking at the handbook I would say that start with the primary fuse box.

have you got a handbook for the car ? if so there are tables in the back telling you which fuse does what, you will see that some of the fuse locations are just written as option, I would check those first.
In the interior fuse box there are some locations that the book says are unused, check those locations to ensure no fuse is there, if there is then check it hasn't blown. Otherwise you will need to check the other fuses to see if they are blown, my guess would be a low rated fuse.

#6 phil71

phil71

    Newbie

  • Pre-Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name:Phil
  • Car :Honda Accord
  • LocationRowley Regis

Posted 28 October 2010 - 08:03 AM

Their are a number of fuse boxes , 1 located in the interior of the car, the primary fuse box under the bonnet and then there are also 2 mini fuse boxes under the bonnet (from memory near the primary box). I don't know the exact fuse and it may also depend on whether the car is petrol or diesel, but looking at the handbook I would say that start with the primary fuse box.

have you got a handbook for the car ? if so there are tables in the back telling you which fuse does what, you will see that some of the fuse locations are just written as option, I would check those first.
In the interior fuse box there are some locations that the book says are unused, check those locations to ensure no fuse is there, if there is then check it hasn't blown. Otherwise you will need to check the other fuses to see if they are blown, my guess would be a low rated fuse.


Ok, cheers i'll have a look and see if i can sort. I checked the handbook but non of the fuses specifically said that it was for the HFT. I'll let you know if I can find it.

Thanks

#7 TypeR

TypeR

    Iron Man

  • Administrators
  • 5,874 posts
  • Name:Honda Guy
  • Car :Accord 05 Exec cdti
  • LocationWest Yorkshire

Posted 28 October 2010 - 09:10 AM

Welcome along mate
Just go with what the guys have said so far. Best place to start
Honda Accord 2.2 I-CTDI Executive with Premier Tuning Stage 1 EGR OFF 18" Storms, LED number plate lights, LED sidelights, HID 4300K and X carlink with bluetooth handsfree. Diesel Power

#8 phil71

phil71

    Newbie

  • Pre-Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name:Phil
  • Car :Honda Accord
  • LocationRowley Regis

Posted 29 October 2010 - 11:50 AM

Hi all

I have found the fuses (inside and under the bonnett) but can't find which fuse it might be. Any ideas anyone, a friend said it would probably be the radio fuse but the fradio works fine.
Any help is appreciated

#9 phil71

phil71

    Newbie

  • Pre-Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name:Phil
  • Car :Honda Accord
  • LocationRowley Regis

Posted 30 October 2010 - 12:38 AM

just a quick update, popped into the local honda dealer today which was about as useful as a chocolate teapot, they just wanted to book it in for an in depth inspection to carry out some tests. Has anyone got any ideas how i can carry out some tests myself on the buttons and the mic and the HFT module itself (does anyone know where it is for starters) The only bit of useful info honda gave me was that it won't be a fuse as this would take something else out aswell and been as everything else is fine they said it's not that. Any idea anyone ?

Thanks

Phil

#10 Imran

Imran

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Name:Imran
  • Car :Accord 08 i-dtec EX
  • LocationCheshire

Posted 19 November 2010 - 11:31 PM

Hi, Phil

I had the exact same problem ! HFT was not working and I also went through the same frustrations!

I solved the issue by purchasing the HFT module from a breakers in Halifax, I paid £40 and it has been working ever since!

Here are some pictures of where you can find the module:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by Imran, 19 November 2010 - 11:32 PM.

  • Matt, Stevearcade and Cliffordski like this
2008 Honda Accord 2.2 i-dtec EX - 18" Sigma Alloys with Kumho KU39 tyres...

#11 brett

brett

    T A Terminator

  • Administrators
  • 13,669 posts
  • Name:Brett
  • Car :8th gen 2.4 Manual
  • LocationBristol

Posted 20 November 2010 - 09:25 AM

very helpful info imran this will help lots of members and save lots of money at the dealers
 photo IMG_06551_zps16877260.jpg photo 1a30ead12b5799ee4c7f519123a797de_zps2vsu5cen.jpg

#12 phil71

phil71

    Newbie

  • Pre-Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name:Phil
  • Car :Honda Accord
  • LocationRowley Regis

Posted 20 November 2010 - 11:51 AM

Hi, Phil

I had the exact same problem ! HFT was not working and I also went through the same frustrations!

I solved the issue by purchasing the HFT module from a breakers in Halifax, I paid £40 and it has been working ever since!

Here are some pictures of where you can find the module:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image



#13 phil71

phil71

    Newbie

  • Pre-Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name:Phil
  • Car :Honda Accord
  • LocationRowley Regis

Posted 20 November 2010 - 11:53 AM

Hi Imran
Thank you for such a detailed response, I have actualy had it repaired (paid for by blackhorse who were excellent) apparrantly it was a seperate hands free which had been installed so honda reinstated the original and all is fine know, but thank you again for the assistance it is most appreciated.

Cheers

phil

#14 NESH

NESH

    TAF Member

  • TA Friends
  • PipPipPip
  • 563 posts
  • Name:Nick
  • Car :Accord 2.2 i-ctdi EX
  • LocationLeicester

Posted 10 September 2011 - 11:02 AM

Cheers Guys,


I just unplugged mine and plugged it back in and even after locking the car, leaving it 5 mins and trying it again it seems to work, so fingers crossed its sorted and if not then I know where it is located so that I can replace it easy enough.

Thanks
Doesnt seem to smoke or jerk too much at the moment between 1.5k-2k but if you have any issues with smoking or jerking then let me know!

#15 CJM

CJM

    Dr. Diesel

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,229 posts
  • Name:Carl
  • Car :56 Accord Ex i-CTDI
  • LocationGreater Manchester

Posted 11 September 2011 - 09:21 PM

Cheers Guys,


I just unplugged mine and plugged it back in and even after locking the car, leaving it 5 mins and trying it again it seems to work, so fingers crossed its sorted and if not then I know where it is located so that I can replace it easy enough.

Thanks




Sounds promising, fingers crossed for you

#16 ozzjim

ozzjim

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts
  • Name:Richard
  • Car :Accord 2.2 ictdi
  • LocationBirmingham

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:10 AM

Sounds promising, fingers crossed for you



Apologies for bringing up an old thread, but thank you so much for the pictures. I bought a 2007 accord ex last week, and have been frustrated by the sat nav button beeping and then never recognising my voice while the bluetooth buttons have simply not worked at all. Took my dash up today and hey presto - no HFT module there at all!

Where am I likely to be able to get hold of one?

Great site btw.

#17 CJM

CJM

    Dr. Diesel

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,229 posts
  • Name:Carl
  • Car :56 Accord Ex i-CTDI
  • LocationGreater Manchester

Posted 03 March 2012 - 08:50 PM

Apologies for bringing up an old thread, but thank you so much for the pictures. I bought a 2007 accord ex last week, and have been frustrated by the sat nav button beeping and then never recognising my voice while the bluetooth buttons have simply not worked at all. Took my dash up today and hey presto - no HFT module there at all!

Where am I likely to be able to get hold of one?

Great site btw.



Maybe try ringing a few breakers that specialise in Japanese cars. Or alternatively, search ebay for someone breaking an Accord (generally a scrap yard)

The part is very pricey brand new, so you would otherwise be best just getting a separate hands free kit

#18 Declanswan

Declanswan

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
  • Name:Tricky
  • Car :Accord ctdi EX
  • LocationLeeds/york

Posted 14 August 2013 - 12:57 PM

Just to resurect an old thread, my bluetooth had stopped working and after trawling through here came upon this this thread. Followed the pictures and disconnected the module, connected again. All working fine, so havent a clue what had happened there !!! But thanks anyway.

#19 chris.v

chris.v

    Newbie

  • Pre-Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name:chris vincent
  • Car :accord tourer 2006
  • LocationTeesside

Posted 16 September 2013 - 12:23 PM

Thanks for the above threads. My 2003 Accord tourer started with similar problems 2 months ago. Rest of system worked but HFT buttons dead. tried contact cleaner on steering wheel. no response, then it worked for 10 mins and stopped. This morning tried buttons as I do on a regular basis. It was working but did not recognise my phone. Tried pairing no success. Turned car of and went back 10 mins later No HFT. Any ideas. Up to today could not locate module. Is it likely that dosconnectin and re connecting may help.
P.S occassionally prior to stopping altogether. It used to change language for no reason periodically.

#20 Utah

Utah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Name:U
  • Car :Accord Ex
  • LocationHome

Posted 07 September 2014 - 09:47 AM

Hi Folks,

 

Been a while since i posted on here but thought i should update you all as this thread helped me solve my HFT problems

 

Using the process in Imran's post above my HFT is now working after a year of problems!!! Cheers mate!!!

 

About a year ago my HFT started to play up.  Working intermittently, losing pairings, changing language.  Then eventually it stopped responding at all.  Nothing happened when I pressed the Call button.  I dreaded the thought of having to buy a new HFT.

 

Soo...following Imran's steps above I disconnected the HFT module for 60seconds, plugged it in again and 'bobs your uncle' its working!!!!

 

Best of luck to anyone else trying this method