What's new

Rear brakes issue

Konda

Members
Reaction score
Car
Honda Accord Type S
Greetings! I have a problem with my 2003 2.4 Accord Tourer which have now left me completely baffled. I have replaced the nearside rear caliper because the piston was seized. And I have also fitted new pads. Couple days later the offside rear brake starts to bind (heavily) So I thought it could be another seized caliper however it isn't because the piston is still free, but for the hell of it I have replaced for a new caliper anyway (so 2 new calipers on the rear) Between this time, both wheels decides to bind to a point you cannot even move the car (and yes the handbrake is off) Now I'm thinking could this be a master cylinder issue? I'm a experienced mechanic and I have never came across this issue before.

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks!

Hi,

Would need to open discs or use window to check tension on handbrake to make sure shoes are not locked, which calipers did you buy as there are two types and two types of pads, sounds like you have wrong pads ?

Thanks for the quick reply!

The pads and calipers are correct for my car because the first set I had were incorrect (completely different design)

The internal drum handbrake is fine. Basically as soon as I undo the two caliper bolts, the disc then spins freely, and then do them bolts up again, the disc still spins freely. But as soon as I apply the brake, both rear wheels lock and won't let off (heavily bind)

As I'm righting this I just had a thought.. could it be partially blocked flexi hoses?

It could be the fluid hose a lot of mechanics damage them by dangling caliper around have you tested with rear jacked up?

sent using tapatalk

The brake master cylinder have nothing to do with your problem.
If i understand well the disc is blocked not the drum right?

Sounds like rear brake hoses are shot.
Replace these and have a brake fluid change.