What's new

2004 2.2 CDTi Fueling Problem

Huxinyu1

Members
Reaction score
Car
Accord 2.2 CDTI 2004
Hi All

I'm a newbie to the forum but had been a honda enthusiat for many years, this being my 2nd honda deisel, all the rest were VTI petrols etc (the best! so damn reliable!)

Have had the above for over 5 years now, it's had its fair share of problems and have repaired as and when a problem popped up, I've not spared any expense;
  • Oil pump chain kit changed around 160k due to coming apart in oil sump
  • Timing chain changed about 150k due to rattling noise but found out it was oil pump chain (as above!)
  • Turbo replaced 170k due to bearing failure
  • Fan belt changed around 175k
  • Full service hisory
I bought the car at 140k, it now has just over 180k. It was off the road for a year and in April I put it back on the road, gave it full service MOT, Tax etc.
It's always randomly popped up a check engine light which turns off on its own, used to happen more in the summer from my recollection but never caused any problems.
I did notice from probably around 150-160k miles when idling, every so often the engine would hiccup, a slight drop in revs and the idle normal again, the hiccup was literally for a second or so probabaly every 1-2 mins if idling, not sure if this has anything to do with problem I'm experiencing now.
Recently (within last month) the car has had problems starting, it would turn over as normal, start and immediatly shut down, attempting to crank it again would start the car and it would run fine although a few days ago it was much worse and had to crank about 6 times to get it running.
Driving back from work (20 min drive max) I stopped off at tesco to buy some beer, when I attempted to start it agian it just kept cranking and wouldn't start at all, I towed it home and attempted it the next day and tried numerous times since but nothing at all.
I tried a new battery, including jumpstarting so defo know there's enough power to get it up.