What's new

how to get revs?

Draga

Members
Reaction score
Car
CL9
Hay all a total newb here.
Sorry for the newb question cant find this info any were.
its based on this:
hp = (torq x rpm) /5252

Right from my understanding when reading about cars and the reason to buy a Honda is 3 reasons being able to easily upgrade a lot of torq ie clutch, vtec, high reving bullet proof engine.
so to get high revs i want be able to rev higher to gain more so vtec can scream longer. how would one do this?
my k24a3 think revs to 7k

I am driving a cl9 2.4l exec pet man

The only way to get more RPM is to upgrade the rods, crank and pistons... You could probably squeeze a bit morw out of stock.. But it would be risky.

I presume you think more RPM = more power... Well i hate to say this but this would not be entirely true in a road engine.

To get power you need petrol, air and a spark.
The head on the k24 will struggle to get in the necessary air to keep producing power past (my guess is 8k ish). This would be due to the inlet cam opening times on the stock cams.

You could uprate your cams too, but again there is a limit to how much air you can flow through the stock head.

If your after more power i would suggest a remap, with some breathing mods and an exhaust are going to be your best bet... But your not going to get big gains from it.

Thanks the hole. I am already speakingto ukcl9 about the remap new header and cat back exhaust ow and intake. I just wanted to boost rpm to about 8000. Thanks for the response

Draga said:
Thanks the hole. I am already speakingto ukcl9 about the remap new header and cat back exhaust ow and intake. I just wanted to boost rpm to about 8000. Thanks for the response
Just like TheHole said, you need to build yout engine, only way to make it. If you get yourself a K20a2 head from a civic type r, have it build, then you can have your 8000rpm monster with 260bhp. Won't be cheap though