toffee_pie

Members
Reaction score
Car
Legacy 3.0R SpecB
ok guys

Let’s get down to business.

Vibrations!

* I am an engineer, not a mechanic so mods feel free to alter this in true Wikipedia style.

First things first

1) jack the car up and take off the wheels, they will need to go.

2) Look at the drive shafts and give them a good tug, if there is any play whatsoever then the dodge one is at fault

3) If the drive shafts 'feel' ok try this.

With the wheels off ramp up thru the gears (up to 60mph anyway) and feel the steering wheel, if it vibrates it’s still from the drive shafts, bearing in mind it’s not even being driven so alignment will have nothing to do with it. (Open to correction!)

The vibration has to come from somewhere and the only thing connecting the shaft to the steering wheel is mainly the drive shafts and its ***ociated bearings, the gearbox is most unlikely to be the fault at all.

4) If the steering wheel vibrates as above then it’s one or more of the boot/cv joints that have to go.

I replaced both of mine (inner and outer) the inner one is the dude with the small 'notch' and splines (part 7), the one with the longer splines is the outer.

The mechanic said the bearings (red circle) were making a grinding noise and this was not evident until it was stripped down. (2 weeks ago he said the shafts were ‘perfect’, so these parts do need to be stripped down for ****ysis)

So if you are stuck for money you could well try get just bearings themselves, again i am speaking from experience here in having most of my damn drive train replaced.. :p

At the end of the day people want their cars fixed right and for the least amount of money

however, i strongly advise to get OEM parts for cv/boot joints, the accord is a high revving engine and the parts are put through a lot of stress, I don’t think parts you see floating about for pittance are worth even considering (I have seen them go for £18)