What's new

7th gen accord review from a non-honda guy

randalf

Members
Reaction score
Car
Accord 2.2 i-CDTI EX
Hi

As a relative newbie here and a recent 7th generation accord purchaser I thought that i would try and put something back into the board. While I expect that what I say won't sway some of you old hands, maybe it will be of ***istance to new people in the future. This being my first honda, it may be possible to show a perspective that is a tad different than that shown by those long term owners.

I'd also add that as a new owner, I haven't got everything as I would like it - yet. If I say something that is obviously (or not so obviously) wrong, please feel free to correct me.

Now I recently lost a VW scirocco in pretty nasty circumstances, as a result I decided to take the plunge and buy the car that has always been bubbling under on my 'to buy' list and that's an Accord EX diesel.

Cost and VFM

It appears that Honda are actively wanting to move the Accord up market, in price terms it's probably that bit more expensive than the equivalent Mondeo or Laguna, while being much cheaper than a similar age Merc or Beemer.

The EX (Sat Nav & HFT) model appears pretty fully loaded, I'd say that the only possible things that I would want in addition would be reversing sensors, USB input and MP3 compatible stereo.

So you get a lot of car for your money and you aren't paying a substantial amount more than a similar age Mondeo.

I'd also note that if you want an 8th gen Accord, there is quite a step up in price terms, even if you are talking about comparing an 08 7th gen and an 08 8th gen with similar mileage. Easily a couple of thousand pounds.

Driving