What's new

Gearbox-Drivetrain knocking noise

cpt caveman

Members
Reaction score
Car
Accord Type R
Hi all, I'm a newbie to the forum & seeking help/advice :rolleyes: sorry.
My sons '99 V reg, accord type R (2.2 manual) has just developed a fault.
There's a low knocking / rumbling noise that seems to be coming from the gearbox or drive train somewhere.
Sat motionless in neutral the engine doesn't make any noise. It's just while in motion (in all gears)
It doesn't appear to be the usual CV joint type knocking/clonking sound, so I'm thinking worst case senerio possible gearbox issue :(
Has anyone come across this issue before ?
Or does anyone have any suggestions on what may be the problem ?

Many thanks in advance people.

Could be the inner CV joints , they tend to rumble and knock at a lower pitch than the outers being closer to the solidity of the gearbox .

Hmmmm thanks, it's a constant knocking that speeds up with the car.
If it makes any difference the thrust race bearing is also making a fair amount of noise at the mo.
The knocking noise does seem to stop if I press the clutch while driving along.

I'm wondering if the car has a dual mass flywheel ? & that is causing the knocking noise now that the clutch is having issues ?

Pretty sure it hasn't got a DMF... it's only us 7th gen diesel owners who are 'lucky' enough to get one of those.

I'd go along with the CV joint suggestion, it goes quiet when you dip the clutch because the driveshafts do not then transmit any torque.

Pretty sure it hasn't got a DMF... it's only us 7th gen diesel owners who are 'lucky' enough to get one of those.

I'd go along with the CV joint suggestion, it goes quiet when you dip the clutch because the driveshafts do not then transmit any torque.

OK Thanks, I agree about the driveshaft not being under torque & that stopping the knocking.I'm just not convinced that it sound like that kind of noise ( I've done a fair few CV joints in my time ) :huh: I could be proved wrong tho :lol: