What's new

Strange dashboard electrical problem

davbar1986

Members
Reaction score
Car
2007 2.2 sport gt
Hi all,

My car has been sat up for about 4 months sorned (regularly started and moved with no issues until now). Came out last week to find that the instrument cluster is misbehaving. Whilst idling and no feet on the paddles the rev counter gauge needle jumps up and then down.
The door open warning light is on (showing all doors and boot are open) even though all of the doors are closed and the dash flickers every time the needle jumps. I've pumped the heat up and run the car for 45 minutes but the problem persists.

I'm guessing it's a damp issue and this is causing a short. Any ideas where to start testing or what action to take? I was going to take the cluster out and stick it in front of my home dehumidifier for a few days but I have limited knowledge to say whether this would be worth doing or not.

Battery is brand new (old one gave up). Car runs and drives fine so the problem seems to be isolated to the Instrument cluster.

Many thanks

Last edited:
We use a dehumidifier bag in the second car (basically dessicant that you dry out every month when it changes colour from blue to pink).

You could try the Japanese trick of putting a bowl of rice on the drivers seat if you haven't got one.

Might point towards an alternator issue?
When my alternator failed (its one way clutch pulley) whilst on the m25 my dials flickered up and down and then my cluster just died. Asume my battery was completely flat too as the altenrator was no longer charging it for while, but I have seen faulty alternators can cause electrical issues and flickering needles on the cluster.
Check your getting 14v across the battery when the engine is running.

Hi,

I'm getting 14.09v across the battery.