What's new

alternator-noise

adam180

Reaction score
Car
accord 2.0 (2005)
Hello Forum
Can anyone advise me please.
I have a honda accord (2005) 2.0 cdi I think, with aprox 60.000 miles on the clock and its the best car I have ever owned, not costing me a penny in repairs.
But now I have a small problem with a flat battery, its the alternator I think because around the same time I started getting a whining noise from under the bonnet (I have changed the battery).
Resurching the problem I have found out the alternator sometimes has a problem with the bearings inside it, that make it fail, if I rev it to 3500 rpm or more the battery light on the dash goes out, any less it comes on.
I have a couple of questions.
1) I am a mechanic myself but only a lowly lawnmower mechanic, I dont understand how a noisey alternator bearing just making a noise can affect its output if its still spinning the same speed or is there more to it than that?
2) I want to change the bearings myself, unless any of you say not to, what size are they, its label has on it- honda CSC29 12V 104210-3291 (DENSO).
Thanks for any help
Adam

Rebuilding the alternators involves changing the rectifier module, brushes (constant contact brushes wear slowly but it's wise to replace especially if the problem was a dying bearing), front bearing and rear bearing.

You will save yourself money if you source the parts and you do it yourself, but there are really cheap deals out there too.

The rear bearing generally needs a press to replace.

Also worth doing the short belt modification whilst the alternator is off. Puts much less strain on the alternator and gains 50bhp! (Joke sorry). But seriously get the shortened belt and remove the unwanted pulley.
It's well documented on here....

Hello all
Thank you for your advice.