What's new

Clay bar and waxing choices

tbourner

TAF Member
Reaction score
Car
Abarth 595
So I want to repair my paint and get it nice and shiny to start off my ownership. But I've never done it before.

Do you recommend Meguiars stuff? I'm thinking Meguiars Smooth Surface Clat Kit:
http://www.meguiars.co.uk/product/195/Smooth-Surface-Clay-Kit/
This is instead of the starter kit, as I'm sure I'm going to drop the clay on the floor at some point. :D
Then what do I want? Polish? Wax?
Ultimate Wax?
http://www.meguiars.co.uk/product/385/Ultimate-Wax/
Ultimate Paste Wax?
http://www.meguiars.co.uk/product/384/Ultimate-Paste-Wax/
NXT Tech Wax?
http://www.meguiars.co.uk/product/209/NXT-Tech-Wax-20/

So confusing. I'm a bit scared to do the clay, does it actually take off the laquer? What about scratches and chips, do I need to t-cut or polish at any stage or will the clay help with scratches?

Personally not used meg's clay so cannot comment in entirety on it.

Sometimes however it is better to buy the kits, when your starting out as they often have good "how to's" equally you will find plenty of advice on the web.

there are a couple of does and don't s to remember when using clay, then you will do more good than harm.

Firstly only attempt to do it when you have fully washed the car, logical yes, but there will be people who have tried to short cut.

Pick a good day to do it, it is time consuming but well worth it.

With the kit I ***ume you will get the lubricant, some clay's use a special lubricant ( a bit like weak car shampoo) and some use just water, this helps the clay to glide across the bodywork, again make sure the panel you are doing is well lubricated.

Cut a piece of clay off the bar, and flatten it out, similar to that of a foam applicator pad, glide it over the lubricated paintwork, but don't apply any particular pressure, you will hear the clay picking up small pieces of dirt/ tree sap, tar etc. You will have to pass it across a few times.