What's new

Clutch issues

andy.lane1

Members
Reaction score
Car
2001 1.8 SE Facelift
Hi Guys,

Need some input again. I have an odd (well by my standards anyway) one. I got into my car on Saturday and after starting it there was a huge amount of travel in the clutch pedal before it got stiff and hit the biting point. It was fine Friday evening by the way. It was like this all weekend, I checked the fluid levels an all were fine. Was going to see if I could adjust the pedal today to fix the issue and took the car for a drive before I did and all the play was gone!! the pedal had gone back to normal. If it was the breaking system I would say there was air in there and it needed to be bled and I ***ume the same can be said for this but I have limited experience with hydraulic clutches so I would like any input to see if I am right and if so how do I go about bleeding the clutch as I have never done it before.

As per usual thanks for all your help in advance.
Andy

You could definitely have air in the clutch hydraulic lines.

Try to bleed the system.
The bleeder is in the slave master cylinder. Although it's an easy process, it's not easy to get to the bleeder. The best method is to remove front engine mount and push it to the side, then you will have loads of space.

Take a look at this guide which I made a while ago when I replaced the clutch master cylinder, in the end, you can see what I am talking about.

http://typeaccord.co.uk/forum/topic/252-diy-clutch-master-cylinder-replace-6th-gen/

If it's not air in the system, and you see no leeks near the clutch slave cylinder, you might have a dying clutch master cylinder, which is starting to loose pressure.

If you are going to bleed the system, you might as well change the fluid, since it must be quite old ;)

You could definitely have air in the clutch hydraulic lines.

Try to bleed the system.