What's new

Voltage stabilisers

tbourner

TAF Member
Reaction score
Car
Abarth 595
Anyone got one fitted? Looking at something like this:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Universal-Car-Voltage-Stabilizer-Regulator-Performance-/250857567879

The clever money is on them not making any difference at all, but then I've heard some people (with 4X4 diesels) who say they definitely work, so wondered if anyone here actually tried it and noticed a difference? Would be nice if someone with one fitted could get a remap and see if Fahad notices anything different as well?

I read a thread on here about grounding kits, but not much info on these stabilisers.

6% HP gains? Don't think so somehow.

Yeah I ignore the gain figures, that's just marketing for Saxo chavs, people say it feels better, starts easier etc.

OK, so I've not tried one and I'm not an auto electrician, but as an electronic engineer I'd say that IMHO if that makes ANY difference AT ALL I'll eat my own head.

Every (electronic) system on the car (where voltage stability matters) will be internally regulated.

If you have £28 quid you want rid of, send it my way and I'll buy some beer ;)

OK, so I've not tried one and I'm not an auto electrician, but as an electronic engineer I'd say that IMHO if that makes ANY difference AT ALL I'll eat my own head.

Every (electronic) system on the car (where voltage stability matters) will be internally regulated.

If you have £28 quid you want rid of, send it my way and I'll buy some beer ;)

Hence the first post. I'm an Engineer as well, have plenty of electronics friends, also know LOTS of auto engineers on other forums and they all say they can't see how it can possibly make any difference, but none of them have actually tried it.