What's new

Accord 2.2 i-ctdi - Boost Pressure not stable

ian.cox

Members
Reaction score
Car
Honda Accord
Hi Guys,

I bought Honda Accord 2.2 ctdi 2004 Executive Tourer 2 months ago.
A week later the turbo failed...replaced it with a second hand one in visually good condition.
Meanwhile I bought Honda HDS to check whether everything is OK.
I did a few road tests with the diagnostics and it turned out that the pressure is not following the target:

Then I thought OK probably the VNT actuator rod is not adjusted properly, so I started playing with it:

But so far...over a month tweaking the actuator rod length and recording the data, I don't have a stable pressure after the initial peak.
Also I think that before the turbo failed, the car was acting the same way - after it passes 2000RPM it pulls hard, then around 3000RPM the acceleration drops and around 3700RPM I can hear the turbo gaining speed again.
So I believe it is not the turbo that is faulty.

What I've tried so far:
1) The replacement turbo was stripped down and vanes cleaned
2) New Fuel filter(Genuine)
3) New air filter(Mann)
4) EGR, Intake manifold, MAP, MAF - Cleaned
5) Temporary blank on the EGR and road test with HDS - no improvement
6) Turbo boost solenoid valve was replaced - no improvement
6) Checked the Injector coding with HDS - OK
7) Done all tests with HDS and it is failing the Fuel rail pressure test, due to "The injector quantity was out of range".
I've checked the recorded values for the fuel rail pressure during the road tests, it follows the target perfectly.
The correction quantity on the injectors is very minor (0 to 0.5 mg)
In relation with that I am planning to do back-leak test on the injectors in the next few days.

Does anyone know what should be the Max MAP Sensor Target on a stock MAP, as I have suspicion that the car has been mapped.

I will appreciate any suggestions!!!