What's new

Cleaning EGR Valve

Paulie102003

Members
Reaction score
Car
Honda Accord
Hello all,

I used to work on petrol cars back in my younger days, paid my way through uni repairing them, including accident damage etc, however diesels are a new kettle of fish to me and I am still learning about them. I was speaking to a mechanic friend who has advised me that one of the leading issues on diesel cars across all manufacturers are clogged up EGR valves. Never had any exposure to these before so I have been doing some research however just want a bit of advice really. My mechanic mate says its really easy to clean them, but I havent done car mechanics, other than servicing the car which I do regularly, for over 10 years (since uni days), so I am feeling slightly hesitant - one due to not working on cars for a while, and second, being diesel.

My car, touch wood, is perfect - no mechanical problems whatsoever but I am considering cleaning the EGR valve as a precaution and a preventative step more than anything. How sensitive is this valve? Is it best just to leave it alone until it gives trouble? Where exactly is it located on the CDTi engines, how hard is it to remove (dont have workshop access anymore, so I can only do bits n bobs on the driveway), and what is best to clean it with?

Youtube has been virtually useless other than just generic videos, but I know that the accords are fussy things and dont like being messed around with too much. Basically, I am looking more for a guide as such on removing and cleaning it.

Any advice would be appreciated

Can't be cleaned on the Honda, all you will be able to clean is the inlet pipe. If it's not giving you any trouble then leave it alone. If you want a permanent fix, we offer an EGR OFF solution which disables the valve as part of a remap.

What are the advantages of turning it off?

The car smokes more :D