What's new

Easiest way to change keyfob battery (without breaking retaining screw)

Um4ir

Members
Reaction score
Car
Honda Accord i-CDTI
evening all,

while we are approaching the season of goodwill and happiness I thought I'd share a nice tip that I discovered today. Btw I am a complete DIY novice.

I ordered a replacement spare key direct from Honda some years back. The battery inside died last week so I ordered a duracell cr1616 online. However today when it arrived I just couldnt get the screw in the casing to budge. Not wanting to knacker the screw I did a quick search online and found this was a common problem as the screw is threaded in with locktite.
After some more searching I came across the most ingenious solution on a US site to get the screw out.

Put the metal part of the key (blade) into a cup of boiling water for 1 min. Take care to avoid getting any boiling water onto the plastic casing. Remove the key and voila the screw comes out with almost no effort at all :) Apparently the heat generated loosens the glue.

I found the following youtube video to be most information as regards how to replace the battery
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZ8QhvtkUQk

thanks

apparently from the forums this affects other models apart from the accord. Honda must be having some sleepless nights worrying about the screws coming loose and the key falling to bits while we are driving :)

Some cheeky dealers have been known to charge unsuspecting customers almost the cost of a new key because they (dealer) broke the plastic casing while attempting to open it !

freddofrog said:
Eric, I also remember screws from other cars I've owned

i dont think you have any idea what i am on about tbh.

this 'screw' in question is a ***** of a one that is used to hold the key together and is held in place with thread lock substance.

toffee_pie said:
interesting, i remember this screw from when i had the accord.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Word_play

freddofrog said: