What's new

Valve Clearances - tools, parts and info need

exec

Members
Reaction score
Car
'99 2.0 SE Exec
Hi

So my car is around 2k overdue valve clearances, and the engine has become a noticeably noisier so I think its time they are finally done before something goes bork.

First question is what tools are needed?

Few tools that I have that might be relevant are:

- Torque Wrench - 7-112nm
- Gunson Auto Clik
- Valve nut wrench and feeler gauges
- Various bits of screwdrivers, spanners, wrenches etc

I suspect I need a long extension for the crack?

For the parts do I just need a rocker gasket and some rocker paste?

Also what are the clearances for the F20B?

I'm a total noob to this job so I plan on following guides on youtube, mainly the one by Eric the car guy, is his guide suitable the Accord? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7wI4EtZSaA

Cheers for any help and advice.

I've got a DIY for this, I'll try and post it again (tried last night but too many images and somehow messed the image links up during preview)

Ok done the Howto

http://typeaccord.co.uk/forum/topic/16845-diy-6th-gen-valve-clearance-howto/

Your rocker cover gasket might be ok, I had already bought one on the ***umption to replace it but I wouldn't have worried about reusing my current one, however as I thought I won't be going near here for a while (little did I know, cylinder leakage test) I replaced it. I think it was about £20, so might be worth buying and forgetting about it.

The liquid gasket I bought was the official Honda one, its crazy money like £50 a tube but I got it for about £17 (must have been a pricing error, although the tube was a bit battered looking so might have been a bit old). I think you can use Honda Bond or Three Bond but have a look into other recommendations as you only use about a pea size amount on the corners of the arc's.