What's new

2005 accord will not start without priming bulb under bonnet

mikeypeo

Reaction score
Car
ACCORD TOURER CDTI
Hi all- I am an exasperated newbie on here.
I have had glow plug light on and flashing -Honda said fuel rail pressure lower than expected-need new filter. Had a local garage do the filter-was ok for 3-4 days and 150 miles but then on hard acceleration went into limp mode. Got it checked and reset then cut out altogether on hard acclelration and engine management light came on. Went back to Honda who replaced new filter with genuine one, now no lights on but will not start if left for more than 30 mins without manual priming with rubber bulb under bonnet. Honda are at a loss. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

you are dragging air into the system somewhere, check the clips on the pipes at the filter, and the pipes as well they could have been damaged during the refit. I beleive the manual refers to this.

Hi and welcome to TA.
It sounds to me as well there is air getting into the system.To bleed the system i believe there is a bleed screw that needs to be opened 1st.Then prime the system until no bubbles are coming out of the screw only diesel.
If this fails then there may be a hole in one of your fuel lines but to be honest if there was air being sucked in the car would keep conking out.

Yup, bad installation of fuel filter that's all. Is your car a facelift or pre facelift? They have different filters.

If it's a pre facelift then you have a Bosch filter. I would say, drain it from the bottom first, then prime it and then bleed it from the 10mm bolt on top of the filter. Then prime it again with the hand bulb and bleed it again for good measure.

Check and recheck all the hoses for splits and kinks and ensure the clips are all on correctly.